Chebeague Students Receive College Scholarships

Rockland, Maine– On Saturday, May 31, more than 100 students, parents and community members of island communities from Down East to Casco Bay gathered at Point Lookout Resort in Northport to celebrate the achievements of young people from some of Maine’s most isolated schools. They are attending colleges, universities and technical schools across the U.S. and Canada.

Sixty-one students received awards totaling more than $110,000, made possible through the Island Education Fund by the ERQ Foundation, Nancy and Robert Jordan, the McLane Fund for Maine Island Education, the Philip Conkling and Peter Ralston Fund for Island Education, the Bingham Trust, Harvey and Pam Geiger, the Grayce B. Kerr Foundation, Inc., the Lloyd G. Balfour Foundation, the Louis W. Cabot Island Education Fund, Nancy and George Putnam, the Otter Island Fund, the R. K. Mellon Family Foundation, People's United Community Foundation, the Shaw Fund for Mariners’ Children, Bobbie and Cyrus Sweet, the Sumner Scholarship Endowment Foundation, the Wilson Family Foundation, the Niemann Charitable Foundation, Lawrence Howe, and the generosity of many other donors.

Several Chebeague students received awards. Julia Maine (Bowdoin College) received a Sweet Scholarship, again this year, awarded to graduating seniors and college upperclassmen who exemplify a combination of academic excellence and leadership. Other Chebeague scholarship awardees include:

Amanda Campbell
Benjamin Hillicoss
Caroline Summa
Cassidy Jeffers
Chloe Dyer
Genevieve Dyer
Lily Englund
Tracy Calder
Jarrod Smith